Seedance 2.5 Explained (2026): specs, list price, what it is good for, where to use it
ByteDance's Seedance 2.5 video model: 4–30 s per generation with multi-round extension, multimodal references and native audio; launched 2026-07-31.
Specs
| Segment length | 4–30 s per generation, with multi-round extension |
| Resolution | 480p / 720p / 1080p |
| Audio | Native audio (generate_audio, on by default) |
| References | Up to 30 reference images, 10 reference videos and 10 audio clips |
| Intra-segment cuts | Multi-shot prompts within one generation; 2.5 improves shot transitions (vendor claim) |
| List price | Token-billed (BytePlus, no video input): $10.7 per 1M tokens at 480p/720p and $11.7 at 1080p |
| Where to use | BytePlus ModelArk API, Dreamina, and platforms integrating it (SceneMixer, PixVerse, Runway, Luma, invideo, Morph Studio, Scenes, Pixmax, onsolo, Frameo, Melies) |
Seedance 2.5 vs other video models: seconds per generation
Good for / caveats
Good for
Vertical drama segments; projects that need longer single takes and more references
Caveats
Raw API means managing references and storyboards yourself; token billing needs converting to a per-finished-second cost
Available in
Where to use Seedance 2.5 right now
Seedance 2.5 ships through ByteDance's own surfaces and through platforms that integrate it. The table lists these surfaces with the per-second price each checked page publishes; Not disclosed means the checked pages carry no separate rate for this model.
| Platform | Published per-second price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| BytePlus ModelArk (API) | Not per second: token-billed at $10.7 per 1M tokens at 480p/720p and $11.7 at 1080p | docs.byteplus.com (checked 2026-09-12) |
| Dreamina (ByteDance app) | Not disclosed (no price list on its landing page; membership and credits) | dreamina.capcut.com (checked 2026-09-02) |
| SceneMixer | Seedance 2.5 Pro 75 credits/s (≈ $0.47/s); Seedance 2.5 Lite 38 credits/s (≈ $0.24/s); Seedance 2.5 · 480P 19 credits/s (≈ $0.12/s) (at the lowest credit price, $0.006/credit; of its 11 video tiers) | scenemixer.com (checked 2026-09-12) |
| PixVerse | Not disclosed for Seedance 2.5 (its published per-second rates cover its own V6) | docs.platform.pixverse.ai (checked 2026-09-02) |
| Runway | Not disclosed for Seedance 2.5 (the published $0.12/second API rate is its own Gen-4.5) | runway.com (checked 2026-09-02) |
| Luma Dream Machine | Not disclosed (subscription credits) | lumalabs.ai (checked 2026-09-02) |
| invideo AI | Not disclosed (per-seat subscription credits) | invideo.io (checked 2026-09-02) |
| Morph Studio | Not disclosed (subscription credits) | morphstudio.com (checked 2026-09-02) |
| Scenes | $0.18/second for Seedance 2.5, the top of its published range; from $0.026/second on Seedance 2.0 Mini; one credit is US$1 | usescenes.com (checked 2026-09-21) |
| Pixmax | Not disclosed (subscription credits) | pixmax.ai (checked 2026-09-21) |
| onsolo | Seedance 2.0 at 720p: from $0.139/second on Basic down to $0.121/second on the top tier; Seedance 2.5 is listed on every plan with no separate published rate | onsolo.ai (checked 2026-09-21) |
| Frameo AI | Not disclosed (subscription credits) | frameo.ai (checked 2026-09-21) |
| Melies | 50 credits per second at 720p (its published credit example); plans from $7/mo for 500 credits | melies.co (checked 2026-09-21) |
What "unlimited Seedance" actually means
Platforms in this category sell generation two ways. The first is per-second credit billing: every generated second draws credits at the tier's rate, as SceneMixer's Seedance 2.5 tiers, the Scenes per-second range and Melies' 50 credits per second at 720p in the table above show. The second is an unlimited window: a subscription plan that, for a limited time and on listed models and resolutions, generates without drawing credits.
The windows are scoped, so read both axes. Higgsfield's pages state that plans include time-limited unlimited access to some models, with individual-plan credits resetting each month (checked 2026-10-13); Topview lists unlimited windows on the listed models and resolutions (checked 2026-10-13). Outside the window, or on a model it does not cover, generation is priced by the platform's own rate: per generation where credits vary by model, or per second where a rate is published. Queue priority is another plan dial in this category: Melies lists a priority queue on all paid plans, and onsolo's Basic plan lists a Standard queue (per their pages, checked 2026-09-21).
Release date
Seedance 2.5 launched on 2026-07-31; the sources on this page are ByteDance's Seed blog post introducing it and the BytePlus ModelArk docs (see Sources below; checked 2026-09-12). The published deltas from 2.0: one generation runs 4–30 s instead of 4–15 s and supports multi-round extension; references go up to 30 images, 10 video clips and 10 audio clips instead of 9, 3 and 3; shot transitions inside one generation are described as improved (vendor claim); and the BytePlus token price is $10.7 per 1M tokens at 480p/720p and $11.7 at 1080p, about 53% above 2.0 at 480p/720p.
Higgsfield vs Seedance
Searches pair a platform with a model: in the Reddit count below, Higgsfield vs Seedance appears in 75 posts (second-hand, counted 2026-10-14). They are different layers. Higgsfield is a creative suite of 35+ models and tools whose pages state that credits per generation vary by model and post no per-model per-second rate (checked 2026-10-13); Seedance 2.5 is a model whose per-second cost depends on the platform serving it, as the table at the top of this page shows. The comparison that answers the query is same-model, same-resolution, rate-for-rate on the platforms that publish a rate, not a platform-versus-model verdict.
What Reddit says (second-hand)
Second-hand figures counted from public Reddit posts and comments on 2026-10-14 (rule-based mention counts, not sentiment analysis; source: docs/research-2026-10-14-reddit-ai-video.md, counted 2026-10-14).
| Posts mentioning Seedance | 16,663 |
| Comment mentions | 4,285 |
| Positive / negative word hits | 1,114 / 450 |
Most-compared pairings by post count: Kling vs Seedance 225, Seedance vs Veo 103, Seedance vs Sora 95, Seedance vs Wan 78, Higgsfield vs Seedance 75, Hailuo/MiniMax vs Seedance 66.
FAQ
How much does Seedance 2.5 cost?
Token-billed (BytePlus, no video input): $10.7 per 1M tokens at 480p/720p and $11.7 at 1080p
How long can one Seedance 2.5 generation be?
4–30 s per generation, with multi-round extension · 480p / 720p / 1080p
Is Seedance 2.5 good for AI short drama?
Good for: Vertical drama segments; projects that need longer single takes and more references. Caveat: Raw API means managing references and storyboards yourself; token billing needs converting to a per-finished-second cost.
How do I use Seedance 2.5 without coding?
Through platforms that expose it: Dreamina, SceneMixer, PixVerse, Runway, Luma Dream Machine, Morph Studio, invideo AI, Scenes AI, Pixmax, OnSolo, Frameo.AI, Melies
Sources
Official pages opened while writing; current pricing and features are always as shown on the vendor site.