Home › Tools › Sora (OpenAI) › Pricing

Sora (OpenAI) Pricing (2026): free tier, plans, and what a series costs

Facts come from official pages with a last-checked date; scores follow our published 7-criterion rubric and are left blank when evidence is insufficient. No ads, no paid placements — editorial policy & corrections.

Sora (OpenAI): None: the Sora app closed on 2026-04-26 and the API price list shows no free tier; API until 2026-09-24: sora-2 $0.10/s (720p); sora-2-pro $0.30 / $0.50 / $0.70 per s (720p / 1024p / 1080p); Per-second API billing until the 2026-09-24 shutdown.

Price details

Free tierNone: the Sora app closed on 2026-04-26 and the API price list shows no free tier
Starting priceAPI until 2026-09-24: sora-2 $0.10/s (720p); sora-2-pro $0.30 / $0.50 / $0.70 per s (720p / 1024p / 1080p)
Billing modelPer-second API billing until the 2026-09-24 shutdown
NotesBatch API runs at half price. OpenAI deletes Sora data after any final export window.
Commercial useNot disclosed on official pages
Last checked2026-09-12

← Full review   Official pricing ↗

What a series costs

Sora (OpenAI) does not publish a convertible per-second or per-image price (or lists credits without a rate card), so no reliable series estimate is possible and it is not drawn in price charts; method and reference figures are in the cost breakdownand the pricing-models explainer.

FAQ

Does Sora (OpenAI) have a free tier?

None: the Sora app closed on 2026-04-26 and the API price list shows no free tier

What is Sora (OpenAI)'s cheapest plan?

API until 2026-09-24: sora-2 $0.10/s (720p); sora-2-pro $0.30 / $0.50 / $0.70 per s (720p / 1024p / 1080p)

Can I use Sora (OpenAI)'s output commercially?

Not disclosed on official pages

Is Sora (OpenAI) expensive compared with alternatives?

See the pricing table and alternatives; compare on total spend per series, not list price.

Sources

Official pages opened while writing; current pricing and features are always as shown on the vendor site.